Contest Results

Thank you to everyone who worked so hard to make yesterday’s contest such a success: David Ashworth our adjudicator; Marie Smith our registrar; Mike Allcock and Melanie Cooper for compèring the contest; Mark Davis and Graham Healey for transporting and managing all the percussion during the day; Jo Priestley for looking after all our trophies; Andrew Beaumont, Brian Draper, Teresa Healey, Ian Peberday, Elaine Nicolson and Rob Guest for taking bands to registration, looking after the honesty bucket and contest programmes, providing refreshments to our adjudicator and managing the doors into the contest hall; and of course all the bands and supporters without whom we would not have had a contest. Thank you to Pennine Music Publishing for donating music to each of our section winners and I am sure that we all also appreciated all the hard work by the canteen and bar staff at the Post Mill Centre.

The full results of the contest are:

Championship Section

1. Newstead Brass (Martin Heartfield)
2. Unite the Union Brass Band (Jonathan Beatty)

Best Horn: Unite the Union Brass Band
Best Soprano Cornet: Newstead Brass

First Section

1. Horbury Victoria Band (Duncan Beckley)
2. Langley Band (Cliff Parker)
3. South Yorkshire Police Band (Leigh Baker)
4. Hucknall and Linby MC Brass (Paul Whyley)
5. Old Silkstone Band (George Newbould)
6. Strata Brass (James Beecham)
7. Bedworth Brass (Wayne Ruston)
8. Carlton Brass (Tony Wilson)

Best Cornet: Langley Band

Second Section

1. Rolls Royce (Derby) Band (Graham Cardwell)
2. City of Coventry Brass (David Nicholson)
3. Shirland Miners Welfare (Lynden Cooper)
4. Audley Brass (Tom Hancock)
5. Shirebrook Miners Welfare (Ben Hewlett-Davies)
6. Pleasley Colliery Welfare Band (Geof Benson)

Best Euphonium: City of Coventry Brass

Third Section

1. Long Eaton Silver Prize Band (Sharon Stansfield)
2. Maltby Miners Welfare Band (Terry Clifford)

Fourth Section

1. Newhall Band (Kevin Holdgate)
2. Matlock Band (Chris Banks)
3. Newark Town Band (Gary Wyatt)
4. Loxley Silver Band (Emily Oke)

Best Cornet (3rd & 4th Section): Long Eaton Silver Prize Band
Youngest Player (3rd & 4th Section): Newark Town Band