Welcome to the web site of the North East Midlands Brass Band Association.

Latest News

  • Dates Set for our Annual Area Test Piece Contest

    Next year’s contest will be over the weekend of the 15th and 16th February 2025 at the Post Mill Centre, Market Street, South Normanton DE55 2EJ. Training Bands, Unregistered Bands, Fourth and Second Sections will play on the Saturday and Third, First and Championship Sections will play on the Sunday. Entry forms will be available after our AGM.

  • Entries are now open for our Autumn contest

    Entries are now open for NEMBBA’s open own-choice test piece contest, which is being held on Sunday 3rd November 2024 at The Whitworth, Dale Road North, Darley Dale DE4 2EQ, for all sections (fourth to championship) together with sections for un-registered and training bands to play a 15-minute programme. Bands do not need to become members of NEMBBA to enter.

    Our adjudicator is David W. Ashworth.

    For those of you who contested with us in February or at last year’s autumn contest, this contest will be run along similar lines with our aim being to run the event as flexibly as possible to enable as many bands as we can accommodate at the venue to have an enjoyable day playing music.

    Copies of the entry form and the rules are on our events page. If your band wishes to enter, please complete the entry form, and post or email it to Robert Stansfield (the details are on the form). The receipt of all entries will be acknowledged by email.

    The closing date for entries is 1st October 2024 unless all the contest places are taken beforehand.

    If you require any further information before entering, please email Robert Stansfield for further details.

  • Long Service Awards

    NEMBBA was delighted to award the following long service awards at our contest last weekend.

    Stan Lippeatt (60 years)

    Audley Brass
    Gordon Bell (40 years)

    Blidworth Welfare Band
    Sarah Emblen (50 years)
    Sandra Kowalenko (50 years)

    Darley Dale & Derwent Brass
    Richard J Adams (50 years)

    Hatfield & Askern Colliery Band
    Margaret Curran (60 years)
    Mr. H McLaughlin (60 years)
    Dr. Robert Brown (40 years)
    Mr. M. Kilmartin (40 years)
    Mr. P. Jones (25 years)
    Mr. Richard Marshall (25 years)
    Mr. Michael Kennedy (25 years)

    Hucknall & Linby MC Brass Band
    Paul Whyley (50 years)

    Langley Band
    David H J Mynott (60 years)
    Vincent Dean (50 years)
    Cliff Parker (50 years)

    Leicestershire Co-op Band
    John Randle  (50 years)

    Matlock Band
    Chris Banks (50 years)
    David Batley (50 years)
    Nigel Birch (50 years)
    Lucy Clipsom (50 years)
    Julie Dunne (50 years)
    Tina Farr (50 years)
    Peter G Smith (50 years)
    Christopher Baldwin (25 years)
    David Baldwin (25 years)
    Jane Baldwin (25 years)
    Carol Glossop (25 years)

    Newark Town Band
    William Ratcliffe (60 years)
    Amanda Wells (50 years)
    Kevin Wells (50 years)
    Hannah Falla (25 years)

    Newstead Brass
    Sarah Peasley (25 years)
    Carrie Sudbury  (25 years)
    Amanda Edson  (25 years)
    Bob Craddock  (25 years)

    Pleasley Colliery Welfare Band
    Martin Carlin (60 years)
    Dave Marson (60 years)
    Trev Milner (60 years)
    Trevor Benson (50 years)
    Joe Clark (50 years)
    Steve Emery (50 years)
    Ian Milner (50 years)
    Alan Kemp  (50 years)
    Lynne Dennis (25 years)
    Dawn Evans (25 years)
    Elizabeth Pearce (25 years)
    Kevin Stewart (25 years)
    Karen Varley (25 years)

    Ratby Crescendo Band
    Peter McHardy (60 years)
    Lynne Plant  (60 years)
    Guido Damore (50 years)
    Phil Hall (40 years)
    Neil Kenney (40 years)
    Emily Bates (25 years)
    Becky Cook (25 years)

    Congratulations and thank you to all the above players for their long service to our brass band movement.

  • Contest Results

    A big thank you to everybody who worked so hard to make this weekend’s contest a success:

    • Our adjudicators John Roberts (training bands, unregistered bands, fourth and second sections) and Alan Morrison (third, first and championship sections)
    • Our stewards and helpers Michael Allcock, Lisa Balsom, Judith Beckett, Martyn Beckett, Graham Cardwell, Chorkiu Chan, Brian Draper, Lynden Cooper, Melanie Cooper, Tina Farr, Freddie Farr, Rob Guest, Teresa Healey, Elaine Nicolson, Ian Peberday and our president Marie Smith.
    • A special thank you to Stanley Malcolm Lippeatt for stepping in and compering the second section on the Saturday for us.
    • Our venue, The Postmill Centre, for hosting the contest and their staff for being so helpful.
    • The Brass Band Music (Gavin Somerset) and Durham Music Shop (Brian Yates) for bringing their trade stands and donating music to our section winners.
    • Newstead Brass for the loan of the percussion and Mark Davis and his team of helpers from Newstead who transported it to and from the venue.
    • Our bands, without whom we would not have had a contest and those of you who came to support the bands.

    The full results of the contest are:

    Training Band Section

    1) Ratby Crescendo Band (Becky Cook)
    2) Long Eaton Silver Prize Band (Sharon Stansfield)

    Best instrumentalist: Daniel Rigley (kit) Long Eaton Silver Prize Band

    Unregistered Band Section

    1) Shirland Training Band (David Hill)
    2) Dronfield Daytime Brass (Roland Spencer)

    Best instrumentalist: Jocelyn Trow (cornet) Shirland Training Band

    Fourth Section

    1) Whitwell Brass (Rob Deakin)
    2) Matlock Band (Chris Banks)
    3) Moulton 77 (Kirsty Woodhouse)
    4) Bakewell Silver Band (Sarah Fellowes)

    Best cornet: Christopher Emblen (Whitwell Brass)

    Youngest player in the training band, unregistered band and fourth sections: Rowan Nicolson (Long Eaton Silver Prize Training Band)

    Third Section

    1) Dronfield Genquip Band (David Holling)
    2) Newark Town Band (Gary Wyatt)
    3) Long Eaton Silver Prize Band (Sharon Stansfield)
    4) Ireland Colliery Chesterfield Band (John Davis)
    5) Maltby Miners Welfare Band (Terry Clifford)

    Best euphonium: Emma McCormick (Long Eaton Silver Prize Band)

    Second Section

    1) Hatfield & Askern Colliery Band (Richard Marshall)
    2) Leicestershire Coop Band (Ben Hewlett-Davies)
    3) Shirland Welfare Band (Lynden Cooper)
    4) Audley Brass (Tom Hancock)
    5) Barnsley Brass (Ben Brickles)
    6) Shirebrook Miners Welfare Band (Luke Pallister)
    7) South Yorkshire Police Band (Leigh Baker)
    8) Kippax Band (James Beecham)
    9) Pleasley Colliery Welfare Band (Elizabeth Pearce)

    Best soprano: Mike Kilmartin (Hatfield & Askern Colliery Band)

    First Section

    1) Unite the Union Brass Band (Jonathan Beatty)
    2) Yorkshire Imperial Band (Garry Hallas)
    3) Hucknall and Linby MC Brass Band (Paul Whyley)
    4) Langley Band (Cliff Parker)
    5) City of Coventry Brass (Lee Woodward)
    6) Strata Brass (Leigh Baker)
    7) Chapeltown Silver Prize Band (Colum O’Shea)
    8) Harborough (Ben Smith)
    9. Carlton Brass (Chris Banks)

    Best cornet: Maria Beazer (Unite the Union Brass Band)

    Championship Section

    1) Newstead Brass (Martin Heartfield)
    2) Horbury Victoria Band (Duncan Beckley)
    3) Blidworth Welfare Band (Gary Perrin)

    Best euphonium: Michael Dodds (Horbury Victoria Band)
    Best horn: Richard Shaw (Newstead Brass)

  • Final Information

    I have now issued the final information to bands competing in our contest on Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th February. Copies of all the documents send to the bands (apart from the draw) are on the Documents page.